killing goliath…

A little while back I came across a painting that stuck with me; both in the moment that i saw it and later that day. The image – David with the Head of Goliath by Bernardo Strozzi. As a kid the story of David and Goliath was always one I loved. To me, all of the heroes that I saw in movies (the epics – man i do love epics) all wanted to be a version of David – at least as he was written in the GOOD book.

This is what stuck with me though, when i read the story as a kid, David was always described as a shepherd boy who miraculously slew a giant hardened killer. As much as I do believe faith is absolutely necessary in life, I’m a fan of this paintings depiction of David – a Man (not a boy) who had both the strength (check out the muscles) as well as the ability to complete the task at hand.

Gotta love how all great stories can become a metaphor for how we choose to approach each insurmountable task…

Ability, strength and belief…oh yea and lets not forget – A BIG ASS SWORD!!!!

Strozzi

Strozzi

~ by amoralgrey on September 23, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
